The quirky life of a writer

There are few who would argue that writers and alcohol dependency used to go hand in hand. Edgar Allen Poe, Hemingway, Faulkner and others were said to have barely gotten a word to page without their favored elixirs. As I thought about this, I analyzed my own habits a bit. Now I am by no means a drinker, but I have my quirks too.English: Hemingway posing for a dust jacket ph...

For instance, I like to write at night after everyone else is asleep. I develop characters the best when I am walking through my hometown alone. I work through dialogue in the shower, and act out some scenes too. And I do have a beverage of choice, although that choice is a new one. After too many mornings waking up unrest-ed, I quit the coffee and Coca-Cola. I wanted to cut back on caffeine and sugar, and quickly found I needed a new hydration device to keep the work flowing.

Enter the Arnold Palmer, a 50/50 blend of iced tea and lemonade. It is becoming a regular on my writing desk, alongside my notebooks and keyboard. For those interested, my “halfy half” as my youngest daughter called it is made from fresh squeezed lemonade and home-brewed tea, and is a bit time-consuming to make. Being the generous type, here is the recipe:

  • 2 Lemons, room temperature is best for juicing purposes
  • 3 quarts iced tea, sweetened to taste (mine is brewed at home with 1/3 c sugar
  • 1/8 cup of sugar
  • 3/4 cup boiling water

Palmer

Begin by juicing the lemons, being sure to remove the seeds. Set the juice aside and place lemon rinds in a bowl. Cover them with the boiling water and allow to steep for about an hour. Drain and reserve the water, then add the sugar to the lemon rinds and muddle them. Add the reserved water and continue to muddle the lemons until they are well destroyed, then discard. Strain the liquid to remove nasty bits, then add to the iced tea and stir. Depending on your tastes you may want to add more sugar at this time, but I like mine a bit tart.

Well there you have it, a bit about my quirks. I’d like to know if I am the only one, or if some of you other writers out there have anything “quirky” you do while writing.

3 thoughts on “The quirky life of a writer

  1. I tried writing while drunk and ended up with an angry letter to my mother, blaming her for all my insecurities and the Oedipal Complex I still haven’t found a way to rid myself of… but seriously: I sometimes try to write happy stuff when I’m sad, and darker stuff when I’m happy. It seems to make for a good emotional balance.

    I also like to do it naked while eating Froot Loops.

  2. Pingback: Dave Dunmire's Writers Block

  3. Pingback: Obsessive character creation | Dave Dunmire's Writers Block

Share your thoughts

